R 092224Z JUL 14 FM COMDT COGARD WASHINGTON DC//CG-112// TO AIG 4905 BT UNCLAS //N06010// SUBJ: 2014 ANNUAL COAST GUARD PHARMACY AWARDS PROGRAM 1. The Annual Coast Guard Pharmacy Awards Program established on 31 July 2006 and supported by the American Pharmacists Association, is an annual program recognizing excellence in the practice of Coast Guard Pharmacy. 2. Each year, one Coast Guard pharmacist and one pharmacy "C" school trained pharmacy technician will be selected from a list of nominees to receive an award. The awards will be presented during the annual Joint Federal Pharmacy Seminar to be held on 19 October 2014, in Washington, DC. 3. Nominations for both awards are now being accepted. Nominations shall be submitted electronically to the Pharmacy Program Coordinator (CAPT Deborah Thompson) no later than 15 August 2014. Nomination packets received after this date will not be accepted. Application information can be found under the "pharmacy program" on the COMDT (CG-1122) website: http://www.uscg.mil/hq/cg1/cg112/cg1122/pharmacy.asp 4. Criteria for each award are as follows: a. Coast Guard Pharmacy Officer Award: An active duty licensed and registered pharmacist, who has exemplified sustained excellence in leadership and innovation or who has performed a specific act within the last 12 months that has had a significant impact which has improved the standards of practice, patient care, operational efficiency, or cost-effectiveness of Coast Guard pharmacy operations. b. Coast Guard Pharmacy Technician Award: An active duty "C" School trained technician currently working at least 50 percent of the time in a Coast Guard pharmacy setting who has exemplified sustained excellence, or who has performed a specific act within the last 12 months that has positively improved patient care or the practice of Coast Guard pharmacy operations. 5. An awards selection committee will review and evaluate each nominee based on the above criteria and based upon the merits of their individual contributions and demonstrated commitment to pharmacy excellence. 6. Any questions about the Annual Coast Guard Pharmacy Awards Program shall be directed to CAPT Deborah Thompson at (202) 475-5181 or Email: Deborah.J.Thompson(AT)uscq.mil. 7. CAPT Erica Schwartz, Chief, Office of Health Services, sends. 8. Internet release authorized. ВT NNNN

## UNCLAS