121842Z SEP 12 UNCLAS //N06010//

SUBJ: ANNUAL COAST GUARD PHARMACY AWARDS PROGRAM RECIPIENTS A. COMDT COGARD WASHINGTON DC 221838Z MAY/12 AIG 4905 1. In accordance with Ref (a), selection boards convened 28 August and 31 August 2012 to review nominations for the Coast Guard 2012 Pharmacist of the Year Award and 2012 Coast Guard Pharmacy Technician of the Year Award.

- 2. With operational tempo and increasing demands placed upon our pharmacy personnel, award selection was difficult as the candidates were competitive. After thorough review and consideration of all nominees, the following were selected:
- a. CG Pharmacist of the Year: CAPT Daniel Hasenfang, Chief Pharmacist, USCG Regional Practice Cape May.
- b. CG Pharmacy Technician of the Year: HS2 Johnathan Gunn, USCG Base Kodiak.
- 3. All nominees in both categories were very deserving of the recognition and support exhibited by their command. The final selectees truly reflect the highest attributes and dedication of the Coast Guard personnel in the pharmacy program.
- 4. Selectees will be recognized and receive their award during the annual DOD Joint Forces Pharmacy Seminar, Coast Guard Service Dinner and Awards Program, to be held this year in San Diego, California from 28 October through 1 November, 2012.
- 5. Congratulations to all of this years nominees and to the 2012 recipients.
- 6. POC: CAPT Deborah Thompson COMDT (CG-1122), 202-475-5181 Email: Deborah.J.Thompson (AT) uscg.mil 7. Internet release authorized.
- 8. CAPT Deborah Noyes, Chief, Office of Health Services, sends