Past Innovation Awards Winners

Innovation Awards News

Capt. Niels P. Thomsen Innovation Awards

The Capt. Niels P. Thomsen Innovation Awards are presented annually to members of the Coast Guard workforce who use innovation to improve the service. Innovation can be used to advance the mission, transform policy and save money.

The awards are named after the Coast Guard inventor of the buoy chain stopper, which dramatically improved the safety of buoy tending operations. They are presented in six categories:

  • Science and Technology
  • Operations and Readiness
  • Administration, Training and Support
  • Culture Change
  • Auxiliary Achievement
  • Cmdr. Joel Magnussen Innovation Award for Management

Award nominations are submitted through the Coast Guard’s innovation crowdsourcing platform, CG_Ideas@Work.