Office of Leadership (CG-128)

Contact the Office of Leadership

Commandant (CG-128)
U.S. Coast Guard
2703 Martin Luther King Jr. Ave. SE
Stop 7907
Washington, D.C. 20593-7907

Supervisors of Civilians Tier II (resident) (502799)

About the Program

Completion of this course satisfies OPM’s 5 CFR § 412 requirement for executive, management, and supervisory development. This 5 day exportable course is designed to provide training to newly hired/promoted civilian and military supervisors of USCG civilian personnel. The course material is created to introduce each new supervisor to topics and requirements that they are required to know based upon their new position as a supervisor of civilian personnel.

Participant Objectives/Lessons

  1. Course Introduction
  2. Purpose of a Supervisory Leader
  3. Risk Management
  4. Communication
  5. Team Building
  6. Poor Performers/Coaching
  7. Conflict Management
  8. Delegation
  9. Stress and Decision Making

Eligibility

This class is for newly hired/promoted civilian and military supervisors of USCG civilian personnel. Newly appointed supervisors will have priority, however experienced supervisors and managers may also attend.

Class Convening Dates

Program Dates  Location  POC 
Dec 2-6 2019 Base Alameda, CA

Katherine.D.Lammersen@uscg.mil; Jeff.S.Henderson@uscg.mil

Jan 27-31 2020 Base Cape Cod, MA Derek.L.Smith@uscg.mil
Feb 3-7 2020 LANT/D5 Michael.D.Osattin@uscg.mil
Feb 10-14 2020 SFLC Baltimore, MD Joseph.W.Herman@uscg.mil
Mar 2-6 2020 FINCEN, VA Jeff.L.Wright@uscg.mil
Mar 23-27 2020 Base Honolulu, HI Jason.D.Dolbeck@uscg.mil **POSTPONED - DATE TBD**
Apr 13-17 2020 Elizabeth City, NC Valerie.S.Miles@uscg.mil; Cynthia.D.Soules@uscg.mil **CANCELED**
Jun 15-19 2020 Washington, DC Charles.R.Harper@uscg.mil **CANCELED**
Aug 10-14 2020 Yorktown, VA Barry.L.Tate@uscg.mil **CANCELED**
Aug 24-28 2020 Anchorage, AK Lawrence.J.Hagen@uscg.mil **CANCELED**
Aug 31-Sep 4 2020 Training Center Petaluma Joy.M.Connors@uscg.mil **CANCELED**
Sep 14-18 2020 Chesapeake, VA Victoria.Council@cgexchange.org **CANCELED**

(please sign-up NLT 2 weeks before the start date to the POC listed)

Past Convenings:

17-20 SEP 2018, Anchorage, AK

3-7 DEC 2018, Boston, MA

4-8 MAR 2019, Elizabeth City, NC

18-22 MAR 2019, New Orleans, LA

8-12 APR 2019, Norfolk, VA

6-10 MAY 2019, Baltimore, MD

24-28 JUN 2019, CEU Cleveland

22-26 JUL 2019, Martinsburg, WV

5-6 AUG 2019, Miami, FL

12-16 AUG 2019, Puget Sound, WA

19-23 AUG 2019, St. Louis, MO

26-30 AUG 2019, Juneau, AK

Prerequisites

It is recommended members complete the 40-hour Supervisor of Civilians, Tier I Interactive Multimedia Instruction (IMI) course (502197), prior to Tier II training. Tier I is accessible via LMS elearning.uscg.mil under MT B Courses.

Application Procedures

This course will be hosted by unit and members will sign up with unit personnel.

Program Manager

Kin Szeto, COMDT (CG-128), phone 202-475-5515, email kin.p.szeto2@uscg.mil