Commandant (CG-128)
U.S. Coast Guard
2703 Martin Luther King Jr. Ave. SE
Stop 7907
Washington, D.C. 20593-7907

Supervisors of Civilians Tier II (resident) (502799)

About the Program

Completion of this course satisfies OPM’s 5 CFR § 412 requirement for executive, management, and supervisory development. This 5 day exportable course is designed to provide training to newly hired/promoted civilian and military supervisors of USCG civilian personnel. The course material is created to introduce each new supervisor to topics and requirements that they are required to know based upon their new position as a supervisor of civilian personnel.

Participant Objectives/Lessons

  1. Course Introduction
  2. Purpose of a Supervisory Leader
  3. Risk Management
  4. Communication
  5. Team Building
  6. Poor Performers/Coaching
  7. Conflict Management
  8. Delegation
  9. Stress and Decision Making

Eligibility

This class is for newly hired/promoted civilian and military supervisors of USCG civilian personnel. Newly appointed supervisors will have priority, however experienced supervisors and managers may also attend.

Class Convening Dates

Program Dates  Location  POC 
January 10-14, 2022 San Juan, PR LCDR Jay Shirey
Jay.M.Shirey@uscg.mil
January 24 - 28, 2022 Cape Cod, MA CWO Alexis Agaman
Alexis.A.Agaman@uscg.mil
February 28 - March 4, 2022 Baltimore, MD Joseph Herman
Joseph.W.Herman@uscg.mil
April 25 - 29, 2022 Miami, FL LTJG Samantha Kenis
samantha.n.kenis@uscg.mil
May 23 - 27, 2022 Elizabeth City, NC Doug Smith
Douglas.T.Smith@uscg.mil
June 13 - 17, 2022 San Juan, PR LCDR Jay Shirey Jay.M.Shirey@uscg.mil
July 11 - 15, 2022 Baltimore, MD Joe Herman
Joseph.W.Herman@uscg.mil
July 25 - 29, 2022 Alameda, CA Stormie Batulanon
Stormie.S.Batulanon@uscg.mil
August 8 - 12, 2022 Washington, DC Sherae Taylor
Sherae.D.Taylor@uscg.mil
August 22 - 26, 2022 Petaluma, CA Adam Jaime
adam.r.jaime@uscg.mil
September 12 - 16, 2022 New Orleans

Megan Mahoney
Megan.M.Mahoney@uscg.mil

September 19 - 23, 2022 Portsmouth, VA Robert McDermott
robert.j.mcdermott1@uscg.mil

(please sign-up with the POC listed NLT 2 weeks before the start date)

COVID 19 Guidance

Optimal class size is 30 or less students, with a per room limited by Coast Guard Policy and local masking / distancing policy.  A limited number of travel tonos are available for students who live outside the local commuting distance (50 miles) of the training locations.

eTQC lists COVID-19 guidance for HT-ROM, and ALCOAST 074/21 

Prerequisites

It is recommended members complete the 40-hour Supervisor of Civilians, Tier I Interactive Multimedia Instruction (IMI) course (502197), prior to Tier II training.  Tier I is currently unavailable due to outdated Flash, and is being replaced by the end of this year.

Application Procedures

This course will be hosted by unit and members will sign up with unit personnel.

Program Manager

Alyssa Lombardi, COMDT (CG-128), (202) 475-5516 or Alyssa.J.Lombardi@uscg.mil