Office of Leadership (DCMS-DPR-5)

Commandant (DCMS-DPR-5)
U.S. Coast Guard
2703 Martin Luther King Jr. Ave. SE
Stop 7907
Washington, D.C. 20593-7907

Coast Guard Inspirational Leadership Awards

About the Awards

The Office of Leadership is proud to present the Inspirational Leadership Awards and Navy League Leadership Awards. These annual awards recognize individuals who demonstrate outstanding leadership, foster a culture of diversity, mentor personnel, and lead and motivate by example while exemplifying the Coast Guard’s core values of Honor, Respect, and Devotion to Duty. 

CAPT John G. Witherspoon Inspirational Leadership Award (Officers, Active Duty and Reserve)

MCPO Angela M. McShan Inspirational Leadership Award (E-7 Active Duty & Reserve)

George R. Putnam Inspirational Leadership Award (Civilian appropriated or non-appropriated)

COMO Charles S. Greanoff Inspirational Leadership Award (Auxiliary Flotilla Commander)

CAPT David H. Jarvis Award Leadership Award (Officer Active Duty)*

Douglas A. Munro Leadership Award (Enlisted Active Duty)*

*Navy League Leadership Awards

Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2024 Inspirational Leadership Award winners. Go here to see the complete list of winners. 

2025 Submission Deadline

Submission deadline is Wednesday, January 22,2025. A solicitation for nominations will be announced in November 2024.

Award Criteria & Nomination Guidelines

Award criteria and nomination guidelines are listed on each award website page linked to above.

Reserve members serving on active duty over 30 days may be considered alongside regular active duty candidates. It is the command's discretion to determine the category for which the reserve member should be considered. 

Tips On Submitting a Nomination & Why It's Important to Nominate our Leaders

Check out these nomination package tips

Read more about why it's important to nominate exceptional leaders

Program Manager

Marketing Specialist Danielle Tergis,